Miss Seafair

64th Annual Miss Seafair Emily Rio Barber

Emily Rio Barber is currently a junior at the University of Washington majoring in Communications and English with a minor in Music. She is a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and is sponsored by the Filipino Community of Seattle. Her professional aspirations are to work in the media as a television producer and/or newscaster. Barber has interned at KING-5 and Viamount Records, where she assisted in the production of music and video recordings, marketing, and organization of events to promote local musicians. 

Rio volunteers for special events organized by the Washington State C.O.P.S (Concerns of Police Survivors) and the Behind the Badge Foundation.  These organizations provide immediate and ongoing support to families of critically injured police officers and family members of officers killed in the line of duty.  These two groups are near and dear to Rio and her family because of the help they provided after Rio’s older brother Seattle Police Officer Joselito Barber was killed in the line of duty in 2006. 

During her time at the University of Washington, Rio has performed with the Hollywood Club and helped coordinate events and fundraisers for the group. She is also a member of the UW Gospel Choir.

Miss Seafair Emily Rio Barber will make more than 100 appearances over the course of the coming year. 

Miss Seafair Court
Miss Seafair – Emily Rio Barber, Filipino Community of Seattle 
1st Runner Up – Tania Santiago, Hispanic Seafair Queen
2nd Runner Up – Natalie Hart, UmojaFest Queen

The Seafair Scholarship Program for Women is one of Seattle’s most time-honored traditions. This year the Scholarship Program and Seafair Festival are celebrating 64 years of history, tradition and community.

Today the Scholarship Program has evolved into one that rewards academic ambition, celebrates diversity and showcases future leaders. During the eight-week program, participants hone public speaking skills, creative expression and confidence. The program also pairs each young woman with a respected female professional as a mentor to provide guidance in education and career decisions. Community service involvement and philanthropy are also required elements. All participants are recognized with scholarship awards to support their educational tuition, and one is awarded the title of Miss Seafair who represents Seafair at events and appearances.

Dating back to 1950, the program was originally designed to select articulate young women as Seafair representatives, based on friendliness, poise, speaking ability and wholesomeness. The program has a rich history that continues to live on through the program’s alumni, current Miss Seafair and program participants.

Seafair Queen & Miss Seafair History

1950: Barbara Curtis
1951: Shirley Flowers
1952: Iris Adams
1953: Shirley Givins
1954: Carol Chirstensen
1955: Beverly Kaye Smith
1956: Dixie Jo Thompson
1957: Sandra Teslow
1958: Judy Paulson
1959: Diane Gray
1960: Mary Jo (Midge) Erickson
1961: Linda Juel
1962: Gail Reid
1963: Arlene Hinderlie
1964: Geraldine LePenske
1965: Pamela Bryant
1966: Erika Hokanson
1967: Linda Andrews
1968: Karen Brown
1969: Cyntha Turbak
1970: Rebecca (Becky) Pozzi
1971: (Callie) Lynn Garcia
*Changed to Miss Seafair in 1972
1972: Kathy Beck
1973: Jacalyn Dean
1974: Galen Marie Motin
1975: Karla Louise Graue
1976: Susan Ishimitsu
1977: Cynthia Janet Edwards
1978: Marisol Borromeo
1979: Keri Truscan
1980: Brigitte Grossrieder-Tennis
1981: Janice Bowman
1982: Deirdre Yen
1983: Susan St. John
1984: Sharon Dean
1985: Melissa Sue Spencer
1986: Julie Warrick
1987: Jennifer Jett
1988: Amy Smith
1989: Jill Nishi
1990: Alexandra Quade
1991: Sherene Chan
1992: Alison Grande
1993: Kamrin Nelson
1994: Sapna Jain
1995: Sungeeta Jain
1996: Anjulie Ganti
1997: Anne Slaugh
1998: Taryn Uyeda
1999: Breann Parriott
2000: Caroline Phan
2001: April Wilson
2002: Tina Marie Mares
2003: Holly De Lisle
2004: Jackie Mendez
2005: Melissa Parks
2006: Erin Waid
2007: Emily Suen
2008: Kristen Tateishi
2009: Jacqueline Saarenas
2010: Kisara Nishimoto
2011: Veronica Quintero
2012: Veronica Asence

Applications for the Scholarship Program for Women will be posted in February. 

For more information on the Scholarship Program for Women, please contact:
Phone: (206) 728-0123
E-mail: info@seafair.com